Monday, January 12, 2009

Abject and Servile, Part 2

All the Senate Democrats, indeed all the Senators, voted last week for a resolution according essentially unconditional support for the on-going Israeli atrocities in Gaza. The House of Representatives has now followed suit. Here in the Home of the Brave, only five representatives had the courage to vote No: Dennis Kucinich (OH), of course, and three other Democrats -- Maxine Waters (CA), Gwen Moore (WI), and Nick Rahall (WV). They were joined by the one real “maverick” in the Republican Party, Ron Paul (TX).

Twenty-two other Democrats voted “present”; so much for the vaunted “Progressive” Caucus to which most of these cowards belong. The ones who voted “present” include Raul Grijalva (AZ), Sam Farr (CA), Barbara Lee (CA), George Miller (CA), Loretta Sanchez (CA), Pete Stark (CA), Diane Watson (CA), Lynn Woolsey (CA), Hank Johnson (GA), Neil Abercrombie (HI), John Dingell (MI), Carolyn Kilpatrick (MI), Keith Ellison (MN), Betty McCollum (MI), Earl Blumenauer (OR), Pete DeFazio (OR), Donna Edwards (MD), John Olver (MA), Donal Payne (NJ), Maurice Hinchey (NY), Jim Moran (VA), and Jim McDermott (WA).

The rest, including many prominent and ostensibly “progressive” members of the Black Caucus, couldn’t even find it within themselves to rise to the level of cowardice.


No comments: